Memories of an age long gone

Posted: May 8, 2016 in Life

shutterstock_371451859.jpg

With my Mum and Dad visiting me in Perth for two weeks, the experience has been interesting to say the least, and far from a harmless catchup. Not only is it them venturing into a world very new to them, but it’s also me inviting them to experience every day the way I do. Something that has changed quite significantly since I left home, around 10 years ago when I was 17. I can’t speak for my folks but through these days there’s been plenty of learning for me, both with regards to myself and with regards to their thinking. But this post isn’t about any of that.

A couple of days ago, I remembered a day from my past so vividly that it could not have felt more real had it happened the day before. It was raining outside while I, 10 or 11 years old, sat quietly in the back-seat of a car with Dad driving the family to a spot well frequented by us. ‘South Ex’, as the name I remember so well, was the destination that I was quite keen to get to. There was no talk in this memory. It was an instant frozen in time with they key facets of the moment dynamic, like the falling drops, the blinking of my eyelids as I stared out the window, the sound of the tyres rolling through the water. An instant that felt way longer than it lasted.

Along the sense of tranquil was the subtle anticipation. Looking forward to the novels that made up my days then, ‘Goosebumps’ and ‘Animorphs’, the new video games at the ‘Planet M’ store, the atmosphere of ‘cool music’ in the building.. they were all cogs in the kaleidoscope of excitement. There wasn’t much more to think about. I was convinced that my thoughts were the boundaries of the universe. There was never even the slightest consideration of a world that maybe existed beyond those walls of simplicity.

Coming back to now, this feeling lingered for maybe a day or two. Maybe it’s the presence of my parents, maybe it was the rains, or maybe all of the driving? Most likely to be a bit of it all coming together. It’s hard to express in words what you feel inside when this throws itself in your face unexpectedly and so aggressively. I tried explaining to Mum and Dad that I remembered such a day and they just nodded a weak acknowledgement, the way someone does when they hear words they don’t wish to encourage further. I don’t blame them, I doubt my words did justice to my introspection.

I love how a single memory can come crashing down sometimes and throw you into a distant past. I don’t particularly miss those days or even feeling that certain way. I think what got me pondering further is rather the ability to feel that way which appears to have disappeared from our lives. The possibility of being utterly and purely content in the moment you are in, with not a shred of thought about what lies beyond, doesn’t even seem like an option today. Maybe this is growing up?

 

Leave a Reply

